Interview with Benji Frank$

The MC

Benji Frank$

Benji Frank$ for UDHH blog
Benji Frank$

https://soundcloud.com/benji-frank/sets/now-or-never-6  

UDHH: How long have you been in this game?

BF: I have been in the game of hip hop since the 3rd grade  ..I  fell in love with my Walkman and 1 cassette tape of random  hip hop artists  that I got from my  brother. From that point on I have been a student of the game from LL Cool  J TO Coolio  FROM Nas TO Mos Def  YOU NAME IT.. I personally have writing rhymes and classy flows for my self since the 5th grade….

UDHH: Who are your mentors in this?

BF: Some of my mentors in the game I studied hard on are .. LL COOL J.. BIGGIE SMALLS ,BIG L ,EMINEM, SLICK RICK, RUN DMC ,CANNIBUSm NAS ,SOLOMON BOOKS, QUEEN LATIFAH

UDHH: How did you get started?

BF: The way I got started with hip hop .. I just moved to Hawaii with my mother and lil’ brother from Hawaii to California. My mother and father just split up so it was a new scene.. month after being in Cali  my older brother followed and was already flirting with the MC life. Watching him bounce rhymes off the top of his head with crazy rhyme schemes, similes  and metaphors officially made  me feel  like I had a purpose  for this hip hop life.

UDHH: How does one make money in the rap game? What do you do?

BF:How does one make money .. I feel, first and foremost, having a common connection with a fan base and having a unique sound, a unique style and flavor  allows the artist to connect to the viewers and fans  to become a house hold brand. In this Era ,the Internet allows your fan base a click of a button  to access your every move,song, and  performance  world wide.Being connected to our electronic devices allows instant access to download ringtones or book shows  etc.  I personally have developed   websites  and have hands on experience with spreading my music through various companies such as ITunes, Amazon, cdbaby.com ,Facebook, Soundcloud.com and Reverbnation. My biggest break was actually in 2004-2005  when I first developed my  MySpace music page  and was able to grasp over a  million views and downloads. Now I’m accepting payments for beats that I have made and  shows I have performed, as well

UDHH: Do you represent a clan/clique/group? If so, who?

BF:I go by the name of BENJI FRANK$.  I AM A MEMBER OF A GROUP CALLED FAMILY BUSINESS  A GROUP I CREATED WITH MY BROTHER GROWING UP  IN THE CITY OF MURRIETA, CALIFORNIA .WE FOUNDED THIS GROUP  IN THE BACK OF MY 2ND MOTHER’S  POOL HOUSE AS A YOUNGSTER AND IT GREW IN TO A LIFE OF  BROTHER HOOD. ALSO, I AM ONE OF MANY MEMBERS OF THE WEST COAST FAMILY CLIQUE  BLOCK ROYAL WEST & LOOTERS FAMILY . BLOCK ROYAL IS A HUGE  TEAM AND FAMILY DEVOLOPED ON THE EAST AND WEST COAST .  My partners and mentors are BIG ACE  FROM BIG FISH ENTERTAINMENT .. AND ALSO MY BROTHER AND FRIEND  BIG CITRIC  FROM LOOTERS FAMILY

UDHH: What do you represent as an artist?

BF:  I represent the every day struggle/grind/hustle/strength.. a real story of a talented kid  going through life with a fighting  chance trying to improve the growth of his family tree . With heart felt words and emotional  innovation . Anything can and will happen if you put your mind to it and dig deep. I represent a person on the rise every day with a reqular job .. regular problems,  real family issues, real family issues of ups and downs  and going against the odds to push harder to be the best me I can be

UDHH: Who are you listening to these days?

BF: I still love BIG L. HIS FLOW AND RHYMES ARE, BY FAR, THE FRESHEST.  BIGGIE SMALLS, DRAKE, NAS ..  BUSTA.. BARRY WHITE .EMINEM. DR DRE, SNOOP DOG, PUEBLO CAFE, J.COLE, ACE HOOD, BONE THUGS .. DIZZY WRIGHT,  TY $ NIPSEY HUSSEL JAY Z,  G MONEY,  CADILLAC FREEZE..

UDHH: This site is about all 4 elements in Hip Hop (MC, DJ, Graffiti and Bboy/Girl).What element(s) have you been involved with? 

BF: Growing up I loved wearing my hip hop gear…. that had all four elements  as music being my biggest. I loved to spit bars and rhymes all day and also DJ … Make beats, spinning tables.. as well as  graffiti ..I use to  be heavy at one point in life  with the art and led a secretive life of a graffiti artist blasting  murals of unique flavors… and styles ..

UDHH:Who are the artists you look forward to working with, if any?

BF: Artist I would’ve wanted  work with are Biggie and Big L.. I would work with Snoop,DRAKE,  Jay Z,Andre 3000, Eminem, Chris Brown ,J. Cole, NIPSEY Hussel, Ludacris Big Sean, Kanye West,Mary J. Blige, Alicia Keys,Ryan Leslie, and Ty$ 

UDHH: What influences/inspires your music?

BF:God, first and foremost. My kids,my girl, both of my Moms, my Dad, all my nieces and nephews, Sisters and Brothers. Being a cancer survvior . Being the glue for my family, the voice for my generation and my daily grind.I inspire  to make sure we have and don’t  go with out.That  is the main thing  I look for, when I jot down my real life story.A common stranger can tell the passion behind my words

UDHH: Where can we find you/ your music? 

BF:You can find my music at facebook.com (BENJIFRANK), SOUNDCLOUD.COM/BENJI – FRANK, TWITTER. COM/YABOYBENJI, Itunes.com (benji frank) and  Instagram:yaboyfrankzz

UDHH: Where did you get that name?

BF:I got my name BENJI FRANK$  from Benjamin Franklin. I wanted to bring  the game  innovation, a new face also a  breathe of  fresh air  with style, suave and creativity

UDHH: What’s the Las Vegas scene like?

BF: Las Vegas scene is the city of opportunities. Not too many artist actually blow up here. Right now,  I feel it is looking for a hero 

UDHH: You have a clothing line, I understand. Tell us about it. 

BF: I am in phase  one of a clothing line by the NAME OF Y.OGY (YOUNG OG’S YEOMPIN). REPPIN’ A YOUNGSTER  GOING HARD WHETHER IT BE  IN SPORTS OR BOOKS SMART   . I HAVE A BRANCH OFF CLOTHING FROM  A CLOTHING BY THE NAME OF  JUS KARAMA LOCATED IN MY HOME LAND OF HAWA’II.

UDHH: Who have you worked with?

BF:   Mr ROCKY ROCK , CADILLAC FREEZE , G DOLLAZ, MOS DEF, TALIB KWELI..PUEBLO CAFE,   GO GETTAZ, SOLOMON BOOKS ,JX., TEFLON DON FROM GMF, DR.THROWBACK, KAAO. SUDDEN RUSH FROM HAWA’II and BIGGADAMAC 

UDHH: Who would you like to work with?

BF:I am open to working with any and every artist that wants to build  a strong foundation of hip hop or music overall if I had to. Choosing one rapper it would have to be –  Big L

UDHH: Any shout outs?

BF: I would like to give God praise and thanks and shout out my family, my kids, my girl, my mom and dad, my friends, brothers and sisters, nieces and nephews, Calvin Langley, Big Ace, Big Citrus, Block Royal Family, my uncles, Caddilac Freeze, Madsthehated and my family biz team.

Thank you Benji Franks! 

..and now..

The DJ

DJ PUCUY The Winner Of Pionner Digital DJ Battle ASIA 2012 @RUMUSDJSCHOOL

This is on a whole new level of DJing…to me…Enjoy!

The B Boy/Girl

WGN 2014: Pebbles vs. Frizzy Fro

Graf

Graff sur mur mtn 94 // 2014 Graffiti wall bombing session PSYM [HD1080]

Let me throw in a mixtape for you to check out..

Hip Hop TXL Vol 46

One thought on “Interview with Benji Frank$

Leave a Reply

