Interview with DJ JRoc (of ROCDABLOC)

The DJ: DJ J Roc

I’ve known this brother for a long time. This guy would team up with  DJ Chance and rock The Legion (Bridgeport, CT). The Legion was actually a hall that was/is  in the downtown area of  Bridgeport, CT near a section called , by the locals, Cardboard City (The CC). Chance would do most spinning while J Roc would give shouts, talk shit to party goers, basically MC ( move the Crowd).What made him known was not only his MCing AND his DJing, but the shit he would talk when the party’s over. He was the first person I ever heard say, ” You ain’t gotta go home, but you got to get the hell out of here!” The duo are legendary.

Fast forward through several parties in different locales and we land on a time I got to be a part of the clan he was rolling with –  Rally ‘Round the Flag Productions.You may have heard of them from my post on J Wils. Anyway, he was a DJ and MC in the crew.He was one of the pretty boys, I was with grimy sect of the clan (in terms of look and dress).we rolled deep to clubs and gained fame and notoriety all at the same time in good ol’ BPT (big shout to E.S., tattoo artist who repped BPT in Inkmasters Season 3).

After a while of rolling with them , I went and started UdF( the Undadog Family).J Roc also started to branch out and make a bigger name for himself.To date he rocks clubs throughout Connecticut and remains one of the “go to ” DJs in CT.

I caught up with him, and this is what he had to say:

DJ J Roc !!
DJ J Roc !!
UDHH: How long have you been DJing?
DJ JROC: Well as you know, but others may not, I started out MCing back in like 83-84 . Then after seeing my DJ getting all this money for gigs….I switched over to DJing and it’s been over 25 years.
UDHH: When do you DJ? Where?
DJ JROC: I DJ whenever they book me, which thank God has been often as of late. My constant gigs are Vandome (NewHaven) on Saturdays…been there 5 years. I do Venturas on Fridays (BPT). And every other Thursday I switch between Sazon y Mambo & M.White Lounge (BPT)…in between all that I still do a lot of mobile gigs like weddings, birthdays, etc.
UDHH: Who do you rep?
DJ JROC: First and foremost I rep ROCDABLOC BPT, CT!! I also rep several teams who I network with: CT Blend Kingz, Super Smash Brothers, #TEAMNOSLEEPCT, remix rockstarrs and soon to come I’ll be a member of The Blend Gods
UDHH: Do you make mix tapes? What are some that you did? Where can you
get them?
DJ JROC: I’m not really a mix tape DJ…I like live performances. The crowd moves me whether it’s 5-500 people. I do have blends that I post on my soundcloud & mixcloud pages that are free to download. [soundcloud.com/rocdabloc & mixcloud.com/rocdabloc]
UDHH: What do you like about DJing?
DJ JROC: I like to move the crowd. I love controlling the crowd and getting them moving with what I play or say. Especially when I got them singing or rapping to the words. That’s a rush for me!
UDHH: What do you dislike about DJing?
DJ JROC: Ending the night….especially here in CT cause clubs close so damn early.
UDHH: What’s hot right now to YOUR fans?
DJ JROC: As far as music…I’m getting a big response from old school. The newer stuff gets love, but not like old school. My major following is between the ages of 25-40 and is a pretty big and diverse audience. I also spin a lot of latin music (reggaeton, bachata, merengue, salsa) in my set where the crowd is really mixed.
UDHH: Being a CT DJ, what are your opinions on the current state of Hip
Hop out there?
DJ JROC: There are very few MCs out here getting heard and even fewer with the drive to really make it happen. It doesn’t help that they’re not making a lot of joints that can get played in the clubs with out getting the side eye from club owners so it’s hard as a DJ to support them.
UDHH: Who are YOUR inspirations as a DJ?
DJ JROC: So many….first and foremost DJ Chance who literally got me started DJing when he was my DJ. White Flash, Kid Capri, Billy Bush, Funk Flex, Jazzy Jeff, Mister Cee, Ron G, Craig G, BiggMann, KG, Cocoa Chanelle, Jazzy Joyce….a few others new and old. I’m inspired by ALL great DJs.
UDHH: Any shout outs?
DJ JROC: God for allowing me to do this for so long and make a living at it. My family for supporting me. All the people that ROC out with me at my gigs. (You know who you are.)
UDHH: Do you do anything else with your time? Any other endeavors?
DJ JROC: I also sing and I’m getting into karaoke DJing which is what I do every other Thursday at M.White Lounge in Bridgeport. I also produce beats and still can drop a hot verse. Don’t sleep the old dude!
DJ J Roc Roc'in !!
DJ J Roc Roc’in !!

Follow DJ J-Roc [ROCDABLOC ENT.] on Mixcloud

Thanks, J Roc! always a pleasure…That’s my “mans”, right there!

The MC: Ashon

MC Ashon pic
Ashon, y’all!

I came across this brother on YouTube looking for content to share with you.

The amazing shit to me was he was working on a full album in ONE DAY! He was video recording the experience. I thought that was something to talk about! I reached out and got a lot more than I bargained for! Here we go:

UDHH: What got you rapping?

Ashon: Couple of answers to that. Real shit I could give 3 different reasons, and i don’t know which is the best to give. The first reason, actually my mother used to buy me vinyl singles when I was around six years years old. The first vinyl she bought me was Doug E fresh and Slick Rick “the show”. And I don’t even know why , cuz I was too young too even know to ask for them but that’s what had first exposed me to hip hop. 

Its crazy cuz than when I was 9 there was a girl I used like from class, I had wanted to go with her an shit. She had said no, straight rejected me and I figured the best way to get her back was to write a rap about her. So I wrote a rap to get back at her, like a diss rap. I never spit it to her or nothing but it just made me feel better that I played her.

From there, It was like every time I was outside I would see the drug dealer niggaz and they was always dressing like the rappers from tv and shit and I always felt like they was imitating these dudes so I always felt like instead of trying to be like the drug dealers I would try to be like the dudes they was looking up to. That’s what got me into into rapping.

 

UDHH: Why did you join the big game (Rap)?

Ashon: That’s kinda like the same answer. I love music and I was trying to get money. And that’s real, I love this music shit but of course we all tryna get this money.

UDHH: What’s the scene like in CT?

Ashon: This shit hell. But at the same time we do got some good shit out here, it ain’t all bad. Its just saturated with envy. Crabs in a bucket. but lately a scene is forming that seems like it has potential to go somewhere. Starting to feel like we next in line. I am for the first time in years starting to feel like we as a state are creating a sound. And that’s wassup.

UDHH: Who do you look up to in Life? Rap?

Ashon: Who do I look up to in life? you know , i cant really say i look up to anyone in life. There’s certain people out here that I look up to their success or what they accomplished in life. 

Rap? i don’t feel like i look up to anybody in rap. That kinda like the same way I feel about the first part, i appreciate they accomplishments and what certain people brought to the game. 

UDHH: Name projects you’ve been involved with (Past, Present, Future)

Ashon: First shit I was ever on was the Caught on Tape album. Since than I been doing the solo thing, I dropped Center Stage in the hood in 09. And dropped two official albums this year. The “Death by stereo Lp” in April, and Liquid: The Diamond Dream in September. Both of those available for sale online right now. Far as the future we working on a third album right now we tryna drop by new years.

UDHH: Who would you like to work with?

Ashon: Wow. Its a couple people out here in the industry I would def like to make big records with. Shit, Kendrick and Nas the first names that come to mind. Those is dudes I would like to see how my skills match up with.

UDHH: Who do you rep?

Ashon: I rep myself.

UDHH: What do you rep?

Ashon: I’m from New Haven. I rep that.

UDHH: Who does your beats?

Ashon: Athagod 888.

UDHH: What do you like to Rap about?

Ashon: I like to rap about life. I like to rap about what I see forthcoming in my life in the future, than my past life situations and things I seen for myself and through other people.

UDHH: What do you like about the Rap game?

Ashon: What I do like about the rap game is its going back in the direction of actually rapping and spitting bars and shit.  We starting to bring creativity again.

UDHH: What don’t you like about the Rap game?

Ashon: What i don’t like about the rap game? its almost like a contradiction cuz as much as i like the creativity and spitting bars that’s going on right now its allot of music out there that’s soulless, plastic shit.

 

Links:
iTunes:
Full Album Stream :

LIQ-back

Liquid Album : Front
Liquid Album : Front
YouTube: (In studio, Making of “Liquid: The Diamond Dream”)
Twitter:
Artist: Follow Ashon: @ashon203
Producer: Follow Athagod 888: @athagod_860

The BBOY:

Here is a clip one of my boy’s Curtis ( BOMD) and his crew battling. He’s the brother with the BOMD shirt doing all the acrobatic moves (around 2:30 on the clip).I’m looking to get even better footage and write ups with the BBoy section.
Bear with me…and watch this:

Graf Writing

I love documentaries! I’m sure that you Graf heads will enjoy this one:

That’s it for this week…See you next Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

