Interview with DJ Mix-He-Can

Hip Hop Production:Garf Richards


This is a brother out in the UK that I met on Twitter.Good dude.His production skills are bananas! I wanted to give him some love on this because, he’s kinda the reason I put Hip Hop production in as a feature..At the time of writing this he’s working on a beat for me. he has my mouth watering because he’s not giving up any clues, ideas on what he’s doing for me. Dammit!! I want you to check out his site:

http://www.blogforbeats.com/

Now,  check out his skills:

MC: Rowlan Music

Rowlan Music

This is another cat I met on Twitter..(hmmm..I’m noticing a trend here…hmmm..wheels are spinning).This guy’s from good ol’ Massachusetts (NorthEast represent!) and his goal is to take his music and make a change in the world.Here are some stand outs:

  • Starting in his own backyard, he has the legendary Termanology featured on the track, Gun Loaded! It has epic strings and horns.Reminds me of that ol’ G Unit sound.Gangster grooves!
  • All Alone has an epic anthem sound to it.This is a big song that I can see as a radio single.
  • Oh, God (in that Big Sean ad lib voice, boyee)! The song My God sounds as if he’s being attacked by the beat. I will say , vocally he’s holding his ground while he encourages YOU to chase your dreams.
  • How The World Turn takes me back to the hay days Rocafella/Dipset  (when Dipset was rolling with the Roc!! ).A rock sounding soundscape with Rowlan bouncing through it.It even breaks down with Rowlan giving a quick Public Service Announcement! it’s like he’s taking a quick moment outside the beat, to speak truth to us, then he jumps back in! The guest vocals by Mickey Wallace are up to par, too.He comes through with jewels directed at you – then he disappears.
  • Hey Dad is a song to a father who’s missing out on the greatness of his son. seems like an ode to a mother who did her best raising that son.The strings and music at the end is fantastic!
  • Love Me starts with melodic strings and turns into another big sound. Rowlan questions the love of fake friends and family.Very emotional.I can see a video to this.

His music is insightful and packed with styles.

Give it a listen to see what I’m saying.

I love Hip Hop music in most forms, but I also listen to other forms of music. All it has to have is a good beat..and I’m good! That is the explanation I’m gonna give for having this DJ in this article/ post. He was the one to put me on to Trap music and artists like UZ. As a matter of fact he put me on to Flux Pavilion…So, I figured let me give him shine. This guy has Dj’ed out here in various parts of San Diego , as well as, Las Vegas!

Without further ado, I introduce to you:

The DJ: Mix-He-Can

Mix-He-Can
Mix-He-Can! Mix-He-Can!

UDHH : How long have you been DJing?

MHC: I’ve been spinning fo the last year an half

UDHH: When do you DJ? Where?

MHC: I’ve been taking a small break since I’m working on an EP

UDHH: Who do you rep?

MHC: I represent all the PLUR family and EDM lovers all over the world.

UDHH: What’s a typical day like for you?

MHC: Wake up around 5:00am daily. That gives me a good hour to work on music before I head out to my day

job. After work is done I’m in the studio from 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm, definitely looking to get my first EP

out soon.

UDHH:  Do you make mix tapes? What are some that you did? Where can you

get them?

MHC: Absolutely!! I have a bunch of mix tapes out; you can find them on my sound cloud account.

http://www.soundcloud.com/mixhecan

UDHH:  What do you like about DJing?

MHC: I really enjoy being the life of the party, as a DJ and artist you control the crowed!! I love seeing fans go

crazy while you are mixing your favorite tunes and its an amazing feeling seeing the crowed react to the

famous “drop”

UDHH: What do you dislike about DJing?

MHC: People tend to think you are just pressing play and don’t recognize the hard work that goes behind

mixing. Most DJ’s are extremely talented and I think we deserve a spot to be labeled as true artist/

musicians

UDHH: What’s hot right now to YOUR fans?

MHC: TRAP, ELECTRO, AND MY SIGNATURE TUNE MOOMBAHTON….PLAY THEM ALL TOGETHER IN ONE MIX

AND THE CROWD GOES WILD.

UDHH:  Being a DJ, what are your opinions on the current state of Hip Hop ?

MHC: Hip hop has definitely taken a fall in the music industry but hip-hop will never loose their fan base. As

an artist your job is to please your audience and you also have to factor in the “new trend” which in

this case for hip-hop fans is TRAP. Artist like myself and many upcoming DJ’s/producers are trying to

incorporate the roots of hip-hop into a new sound all in the name of our fans. Nothing will ever be able

to replace hip-hop unfortunately.

UDHH: Who are YOUR inspirations as a DJ?

MHC: I have a long list of DJ/Producers who I admire and who inspire me but the one who really influenced me

into becoming a DJ is Diplo.

UDHH:  Any shout outs?

MHC: Moombahton lovers!!!!!

UDHH:  Do you do anything else with your time? Any other endeavors?

MHC: No, In the past year I’ve spent almost all of my free time in learning new software for my music

production and also into getting better with my DJ’ing skills.

The BBoy:

I really need to get at some BBoys..Y’all know any? Lemme know!In the meantime, I’m gonna keep finding fly BBoy battles and crews until then. This week, with the movie Battle of the Year making noise, here’s some REAL battle of the year footage:

Damn!

Graffitti:

I’ll let the art speak for itself:

One thought on “Interview with DJ Mix-He-Can

Leave a Reply

