Interview with DJ Kool Keith

DJ Kool Keith
My man, DJ Kool Keith

I realize that when it comes to me and Hip Hop, I’ve done some major things. I became a member of the Universal Zulu Nation(1992, I got my medallion from Afrikaa Bambaataa himself!), I’ve hosted a local cable access Hip Hop show called UDTV ( My man Goob G’s show), I’ve done radio, I’ve performed ( BBoying and Rappin’) in front of an audience, I’ve been in a parade (Puerto Rican Day Parade in Bridgeport, CT), interviewed PMD, Lady Luck, N.O.R.E., Mood, Cocoa Brovaz, Bobby Konders and Jabba, my resume is thick.There were/are some names that ring/rang bells in Bridgeport, Connecticut. I’m fortunate to know some of them – DJ White Flash, The Skinny Boys, DJ Chance(click to read HIS interview), DJ JRoc, DJ Billy Bush,The Bootmen, Three the Hardway, The City Committee, DJ Kingsley, DJ Dice, plus many more. I know these folks and more, but there’s one who sticks out because HE mentored me and took me along for a ride in his Hip Hop vehicle.

That brother  is DJ Kool Keith.

The original purpose of this blog is to give shine to Connecticut Hip Hop. I MUST include Kool Keith.Everything I’ve done with the exception of joining Zulu Nation, Keith did before me.I must pay homage.

How do I do that, though? Interview him!

..and it goes like this:

UDHH: How long have you been DJing?

DJKK: 31 years

UDHH: When do you DJ? Where?

DJKK: Every opportunity and all over the northeastern seaboard

UDHH: Who do you rep?

DJKK: Core DJ’s DJ League & Vinyl Squad

UDHH: What’s a typical day like for you?

DJKK: Wake up and make coffee, start working on intel (music), looking for exclusives and breaking records, making remixes off of master recordings, resident DJ & making mixes for the “Drive At 5” on 94.3 WYBC FM New Haven, sending out contracts & riders on bookings, always looking for vinyl.

UDHH: Do you make mix tapes? What are some that you did? Where can you
get them?

DJKK: Make a mix CD 2-3 times a month and can be listened or downloaded on the following sites: www.Soundcloud.com, www.Mixcloud.com, Hulkshare.com (all under DJKoolKeith)

UDHH: What do you like about DJing?

DJKK: Being able to control the crowds response and how to either contain them or making them want more, most of all having everyone feel good after hearing how i play music.

UDHH: What do you dislike about DJing?

DJKK:  The ones that are never satisfied and always have something to complain about. At the end of the day, I’ve accepted that not everyone’s  going to be satisfied…..they’ll live!

UDHH: What’s hot right now to YOUR fans?

DJKK: Robin Thicke, Justin Timberlake, Chris Brown,

UDHH: Being a Connecticut DJ what are your opinions on the current state of Hip
Hop out there?

DJKK:  I went to the Wild Style 30th anniversary concert and the famous Busy Bee hit the stage and said a statement after his performance that confirmed what i kept believing, women of the world today are independent, strong and beautiful, this is what “Hip Hop” represents. Today’s “Rap” of what is played today list the same woman as “bitches, hoes or ratchet”, that is not “Hip Hop” and does not represent the art and what is was created for. Hip Hop is a form of story telling of situations that all has either experienced or has a funny twist about a dream. “Rappers” gives a whole different perception of it and selling their souls rather to be true to the art.

UDHH:  Who are YOUR inspirations as a DJ?

DJKK: DJ Grandmaster Flash, DJ Jazzy Jeff, DJ Kid Capri, DJ Scratch, DJ Grand Wizard Theodore & DJ Roc Raider (R.I.P)

UDHH: Any shout outs?

DJKK: Shout out to DJ Tony Crush (from the Cold Crush Brothers), DJ Superman Jay (Skinny Boys) & DJ Mell Starr (Master Of The Mix)

UDHH: Any mentors?

DJKK: DJ Tony Crush, Juan Castillo (station manager at WYBC)

UDHH: Do you do anything else with your time? Any other endeavors?

DJKK: As a recent kidney recipient, i dedicated a part of my life to bringing awareness about kidney failure and partnered with the National Kidney Foundation to raise funds for people who can’t afford treatment. Also, very involved with giving the youth opportunities to remind & show them they are important and they can be the best they can be.

Thanks, Kool Keith! Short and sweet..

Me and DJ Kool Keith
Me and DJ Kool Keith, circa early 2000s

Follow DJ Kool Keith on Mixcloud
During the course of this past week, I’ve been reaching out to different people. I’m talking established friends to people who follow my social media outlets. I ran across this French MC named DShabba.

DShabba
My brother in Hip Hop. France Represent!

Good dude..The convo was great. We chopped it up all about Hip Hop. One thing I made known to him is that overseas – they do Hip Hop right! He put me on to his soundcloud account (click to listen, Check out, Pouss Pouss).I listened to his tracks.Fire..even with the language barrier.

Boom Bap!

He put me on to his video..I watched it. I liked it all…so, I figure ‘why not share’?

French rappin’ fo ‘yo’ ass! can you understand it? It’s pure Hip Hop! big ups, to a new friend in Hip Hop!

Now…I like BBoying like the next hip Hop head…So onto a video brought to my attention by a BBoy I know, my fellow ahki – Curtis. apparently, he knows these BBoys. Watch the sick moves they pull off!!

…and last but not least…GRAF!!

I think I covered it all…until Next week…

Yooohoooo!

4 thoughts on “Interview with DJ Kool Keith

Leave a Reply

